Book It In

DC Universe Rebirth Omnibus – a review

Posted on Posted in Book It In - Book Reviews, Reviews
Wally West’s return kicks off the DC Universe’s rebirth event

DC Universe Rebirth is 2016’s relaunch of the DC Universe following the New 52 initiative, in which all the classic heroes were rebooted in various ways. As an omnibus, this large volume collects the first stories in this relaunch, all together as a variety of different tales featuring different heroes and different art styles.

The story follows a variety of different characters across the multiverse (multiple universes) as Wally West races back into existence, with the fact that something or someone has wiped all memory of him from his friends and family. This, the reader is suggested by visual cues, may have something to do with the Watchmen – and the DC Universe looks as if it may be headed on a collision course with those particular characters from Alan Moore’s work.

The beauty of an omnibus like this is that for a reader who has read the complete Darkseid War (in which Batman, Superman, Shazam, Green Lantern, Lex Luthor and The Flash all become gods) this seemingly follows on from shortly after this event. The omnibus sets up how the DC Universe appears ready to proceed in the current issues, and introduces readers to characters that they may not necessarily choose to read otherwise.

Everyone, for example, is familiar with Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman – most are familiar with the Justice League on the whole. However, how many readers are familiar with Thomas Wayne as Flashpoint Batman? How many readers are aware of Batgirl and the Birds of Prey? How many readers love Blue Beetle? The Teen Titans? Batman Beyond? Therefore, it is well worth picking up an omnibus like this to observe and see how the current DC Universe is coming together as a whole.

According to Comic Book Herald, this omnibus collects the following works:

  1. DC Universe: Rebirth #1
  2. Batman: Rebirth #1
  3. Superman: Rebirth #1
  4. Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1
  5. The Flash: Rebirth #1
  6. Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1
  7. Aquaman: Rebirth #1
  8. Green Arrow: Rebirth #1
  9. Cyborg: Rebirth #1
  10. Green Lanters: Rebirth #1
  11. Justice League: Rebirth #1
  12. Nightwing: Rebirth #1
  13. Titans: Rebirth #1
  14. Batgirl And the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1
  15. The Hellblazer: Rebirth #1
  16. Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1
  17. Suicide Squad: Rebirth #1
  18. Deathstroke: Rebirth #1
  19. Supergirl: Rebirth #1
  20. Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1
  21. Teen Titans: Rebirth #1
  22. Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

So, if you are a DC Universe (or a comic book/graphic novel) fan then it is well worth picking up a few of the more recent omnibuses that collect multiple stories from different characters. Each story has its own artwork, is a whole story at once, and is a relatively quick and easy read with bright and bold colour palettes that fly off the page.

Like what you see? Let others know about our site!

Leave a Reply